MLB Player Stats - Sonny Gray - Cincinnati

 
MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Postseason|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#54
Sonny Gray
ERA W-L K
2.87 11-8 205
Team: CincinnatiHt / Wt: 5-10 / 192
Position: SPBorn: 11/7/1989 Birthplace: Nashville, Tennessee
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 1st Round by Athletics (2011)


Latest News
Sep. 24 6:38 PM PT7:38 PM MT8:38 PM CT9:38 PM ET21:38 ET1:38 GMT9:38 6:38 PM MST8:38 PM EST7:38 PM CST9:08 PM VEN5:38 UAE (+1)8:38 PM CT-Sonny Gray fell to 11-8, allowing three runs on three hits and two walks in 5.0 innings, as the Cincinnati Reds lost to the Milwaukee Brewers 4-2 on Tuesday. Gray struck out six, ending the game with a 2.87 ERA and 1.08 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 17 8:20 PM PT9:20 PM MT10:20 PM CT11:20 PM ET23:20 ET3:20 GMT11:20 8:20 PM MST10:20 PM EST9:20 PM CST10:50 PM VEN7:20 UAE (+1)10:20 PM CT-Sonny Gray improved to 11-7, allowing two runs on four hits and three walks in 6.2 innings, as the Cincinnati Reds defeated the Chicago Cubs 4-2 on Tuesday. Gray struck out nine, ending the game with a 2.80 ERA and 1.09 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 12 10:13 PM PT11:13 PM MT12:13 AM CT1:13 AM ET1:13 ET5:13 GMT13:13 10:13 PM MST12:13 AM EST11:13 PM CST12:43 AM VEN9:13 UAE12:13 AM CT-Sonny Gray fell to 10-7, allowing three runs on two hits and three walks in 6.1 innings, as the Cincinnati Reds lost to the Seattle Mariners 5-3 on Wednesday. Gray struck out nine, ending the game with a 2.80 ERA and 1.09 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 5 1:17 PM PT2:17 PM MT3:17 PM CT4:17 PM ET16:17 ET20:17 GMT4:17 1:17 PM MST3:17 PM EST2:17 PM CST3:47 PM VEN0:17 UAE (+1)3:17 PM CT-Sonny Gray allowed one run on four hits in 6.0 innings as the Cincinnati Reds defeated the Philadelphia Phillies 4-3 on Thursday. Gray struck out seven, ending the game with a 2.75 ERA and 1.10 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 31 7:15 PM PT8:15 PM MT9:15 PM CT10:15 PM ET22:15 ET2:15 GMT10:15 7:15 PM MST9:15 PM EST8:15 PM CST9:45 PM VEN6:15 UAE (+1)9:15 PM CT-Sonny Gray allowed one run - zero earned - on five hits and two walks in 6.2 innings as the Cincinnati Reds lost to the St. Louis Cardinals 3-2 on Saturday. Gray struck out four, ending the game with a 2.80 ERA and 1.12 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 26 7:19 PM PT8:19 PM MT9:19 PM CT10:19 PM ET22:19 ET2:19 GMT10:19 7:19 PM MST9:19 PM EST8:19 PM CST9:49 PM VEN6:19 UAE (+1)9:19 PM CT-Sonny Gray improved to 10-6, allowing two runs on two hits and five walks in 6.0 innings, as the Cincinnati Reds defeated the Miami Marlins 6-3 on Monday. Gray struck out six, ending the game with a 2.92 ERA and 1.12 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 20 7:21 PM PT8:21 PM MT9:21 PM CT10:21 PM ET22:21 ET2:21 GMT10:21 7:21 PM MST9:21 PM EST8:21 PM CST9:51 PM VEN6:21 UAE (+1)9:21 PM CT-Sonny Gray improved to 9-6, allowing one run on four hits and three walks in 6.0 innings, as the Cincinnati Reds defeated the San Diego Padres 3-2 on Tuesday. Gray struck out 10, ending the game with a 2.92 ERA and 1.12 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 15 7:52 PM PT8:52 PM MT9:52 PM CT10:52 PM ET22:52 ET2:52 GMT10:52 7:52 PM MST9:52 PM EST8:52 PM CST10:22 PM VEN6:52 UAE (+1)9:52 PM CT-Sonny Gray improved to 8-6, allowing one hit and three walks over 5.0 scoreless innings, as the Cincinnati Reds defeated the St. Louis Cardinals 2-1 on Thursday. Gray struck out 10, ending the game with a 2.98 ERA and 1.12 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 10 7:20 PM PT8:20 PM MT9:20 PM CT10:20 PM ET22:20 ET2:20 GMT10:20 7:20 PM MST9:20 PM EST8:20 PM CST9:50 PM VEN6:20 UAE (+1)9:20 PM CT-Sonny Gray improved to 7-6, allowing two hits and four walks over 6.0 scoreless innings, as the Cincinnati Reds defeated the Chicago Cubs 10-1 on Saturday. Gray struck out seven, ending the game with a 3.10 ERA and 1.13 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 4 2:21 PM PT3:21 PM MT4:21 PM CT5:21 PM ET17:21 ET21:21 GMT5:21 2:21 PM MST4:21 PM EST3:21 PM CST4:51 PM VEN1:21 UAE (+1)4:21 PM CT-Sonny Gray allowed four hits and four walks without giving up a run in 7.0 innings as the Cincinnati Reds defeated the Atlanta Braves 6-4 on Sunday. Gray struck out seven, ending the game with a 3.25 ERA and 1.13 WHIP on the season.
July 29 7:28 PM PT8:28 PM MT9:28 PM CT10:28 PM ET22:28 ET2:28 GMT10:28 7:28 PM MST9:28 PM EST8:28 PM CST9:58 PM VEN6:28 UAE (+1)9:28 PM CT-Sonny Gray improved to 6-6, allowing four runs on six hits and one walk in 5.1 innings, as the Cincinnati Reds defeated the Pittsburgh Pirates 11-6 on Monday. Gray struck out three, ending the game with a 3.45 ERA and 1.13 WHIP on the season.
July 22 8:48 PM PT9:48 PM MT10:48 PM CT11:48 PM ET23:48 ET3:48 GMT11:48 8:48 PM MST10:48 PM EST9:48 PM CST11:18 PM VEN7:48 UAE (+1)10:48 PM CT-Sonny Gray allowed one run on four hits and two walks in 6.0 innings as the Cincinnati Reds defeated the Milwaukee Brewers 6-5 on Monday. Gray struck out seven, ending the game with a 3.29 ERA and 1.13 WHIP on the season.
July 17 2:31 PM PT3:31 PM MT4:31 PM CT5:31 PM ET17:31 ET21:31 GMT5:31 2:31 PM MST4:31 PM EST3:31 PM CST5:01 PM VEN1:31 UAE (+1)4:31 PM CT-Sonny Gray fell to 5-6, allowing two runs on two hits in 6.0 innings, as the Cincinnati Reds lost to the Chicago Cubs 5-2 on Wednesday. Gray struck out eight, ending the game with a 3.40 ERA and 1.13 WHIP on the season.
July 12 8:23 PM PT9:23 PM MT10:23 PM CT11:23 PM ET23:23 ET3:23 GMT11:23 8:23 PM MST10:23 PM EST9:23 PM CST10:53 PM VEN7:23 UAE (+1)10:23 PM CT-Sonny Gray allowed one run on five hits and three walks in 7.0 innings as the Cincinnati Reds lost to the Colorado Rockies 3-2 on Friday. Gray struck out nine, ending the game with a 3.42 ERA and 1.18 WHIP on the season.
July 3 7:03 PM PT8:03 PM MT9:03 PM CT10:03 PM ET22:03 ET2:03 GMT10:03 7:03 PM MST9:03 PM EST8:03 PM CST9:33 PM VEN6:03 UAE (+1)9:03 PM CT-Sonny Gray improved to 5-5, allowing four hits and one walk over 8.0 scoreless innings, as the Cincinnati Reds defeated the Milwaukee Brewers 3-0 on Wednesday. Gray struck out 12, ending the game with a 3.59 ERA and 1.18 WHIP on the season.
June 28 7:27 PM PT8:27 PM MT9:27 PM CT10:27 PM ET22:27 ET2:27 GMT10:27 7:27 PM MST9:27 PM EST8:27 PM CST9:57 PM VEN6:27 UAE (+1)9:27 PM CT-Sonny Gray improved to 4-5, allowing two runs on four hits and one walk in 6.1 innings, as the Cincinnati Reds defeated the Chicago Cubs 6-3 on Friday. Gray struck out six, ending the game with a 3.94 ERA and 1.24 WHIP on the season.
June 22 9:23 PM PT10:23 PM MT11:23 PM CT12:23 AM ET0:23 ET4:23 GMT12:23 9:23 PM MST11:23 PM EST10:23 PM CST11:53 PM VEN8:23 UAE11:23 PM CT-Sonny Gray allowed four runs on six hits and four walks in 4.1 innings as the Cincinnati Reds defeated the Milwaukee Brewers 11-7 on Friday. Gray struck out six, ending the game with a 4.03 ERA and 1.28 WHIP on the season.
June 16 3:09 PM PT4:09 PM MT5:09 PM CT6:09 PM ET18:09 ET22:09 GMT6:09 3:09 PM MST5:09 PM EST4:09 PM CST5:39 PM VEN2:09 UAE (+1)5:09 PM CT-Sonny Gray improved to 3-5, allowing three runs on five hits and one walk in 5.0 innings, as the Cincinnati Reds defeated the Texas Rangers 11-3 on Sunday. Gray struck out eight, ending the game with a 3.77 ERA and 1.21 WHIP on the season.
June 9 1:27 PM PT2:27 PM MT3:27 PM CT4:27 PM ET16:27 ET20:27 GMT4:27 1:27 PM MST3:27 PM EST2:27 PM CST3:57 PM VEN0:27 UAE (+1)3:27 PM CT-Sonny Gray allowed three runs on four hits and three walks in 5.2 innings as the Cincinnati Reds defeated the Philadelphia Phillies 4-3 on Sunday. Gray struck out three, ending the game with a 3.65 ERA and 1.22 WHIP on the season.
June 2 1:21 PM PT2:21 PM MT3:21 PM CT4:21 PM ET16:21 ET20:21 GMT4:21 1:21 PM MST3:21 PM EST2:21 PM CST3:51 PM VEN0:21 UAE (+1)3:21 PM CT-Sonny Gray fell to 2-5, allowing two runs on five hits and one walk in 5.0 innings, as the Cincinnati Reds lost to the Washington Nationals 4-1 on Sunday. Gray struck out four, ending the game with a 3.54 ERA and 1.21 WHIP on the season.
May 27 7:13 PM PT8:13 PM MT9:13 PM CT10:13 PM ET22:13 ET2:13 GMT10:13 7:13 PM MST9:13 PM EST8:13 PM CST9:43 PM VEN6:13 UAE (+1)9:13 PM CT-Sonny Gray improved to 2-4, allowing one run on five hits and two walks in 6.0 innings, as the Cincinnati Reds defeated the Pittsburgh Pirates 8-1 on Monday. Gray struck out seven, ending the game with a 3.54 ERA and 1.21 WHIP on the season.
May 21 7:23 PM PT8:23 PM MT9:23 PM CT10:23 PM ET22:23 ET2:23 GMT10:23 7:23 PM MST9:23 PM EST8:23 PM CST9:53 PM VEN6:23 UAE (+1)9:23 PM CT-Sonny Gray improved to 1-4, allowing five hits and four walks over 6.0 scoreless innings, as the Cincinnati Reds defeated the Milwaukee Brewers 3-0 on Tuesday. Gray struck out nine, ending the game with a 3.78 ERA and 1.22 WHIP on the season.
May 15 7:14 PM PT8:14 PM MT9:14 PM CT10:14 PM ET22:14 ET2:14 GMT10:14 7:14 PM MST9:14 PM EST8:14 PM CST9:44 PM VEN6:14 UAE (+1)9:14 PM CT-Sonny Gray allowed three runs on five hits in 5.0 innings as the Cincinnati Reds defeated the Chicago Cubs 6-5 on Wednesday. Gray struck out seven, ending the game with a 4.30 ERA and 1.18 WHIP on the season.
May 9 11:09 PM PT12:09 AM MT1:09 AM CT2:09 AM ET2:09 ET6:09 GMT14:09 11:09 PM MST1:09 AM EST12:09 AM CST1:39 AM VEN10:09 UAE1:09 AM CT-Sonny Gray allowed four runs - three earned - on six hits and five walks in 4.1 innings as the Cincinnati Reds lost to the Oakland Athletics 5-4 on Wednesday. Gray struck out three, ending the game with a 4.15 ERA and 1.21 WHIP on the season.
May 3 8:47 PM PT9:47 PM MT10:47 PM CT11:47 PM ET23:47 ET3:47 GMT11:47 8:47 PM MST10:47 PM EST9:47 PM CST11:17 PM VEN7:47 UAE (+1)10:47 PM CT-Sonny Gray allowed three runs on four hits and three walks in 5.0 innings as the Cincinnati Reds lost to the San Francisco Giants 12-11 on Friday. Gray struck out two, ending the game with a 3.89 ERA and 1.04 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 28 2:14 PM PT3:14 PM MT4:14 PM CT5:14 PM ET17:14 ET21:14 GMT5:14 2:14 PM MST4:14 PM EST3:14 PM CST4:44 PM VEN1:14 UAE (+1)4:14 PM CT-Sonny Gray fell to 0-4, allowing two runs on three hits and two walks in 5.0 innings, as the Cincinnati Reds lost to the St. Louis Cardinals 5-2 on Sunday. Gray struck out five, ending the game with a 3.64 ERA and 0.98 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 23 7:09 PM PT8:09 PM MT9:09 PM CT10:09 PM ET22:09 ET2:09 GMT10:09 7:09 PM MST9:09 PM EST8:09 PM CST9:39 PM VEN6:09 UAE (+1)9:09 PM CT-Sonny Gray allowed four runs - three earned - on six hits in 5.1 innings as the Cincinnati Reds defeated the Atlanta Braves 7-6 on Tuesday. Gray struck out nine, ending the game with a 3.28 ERA and 0.97 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 17 2:51 PM PT3:51 PM MT4:51 PM CT5:51 PM ET17:51 ET21:51 GMT5:51 2:51 PM MST4:51 PM EST3:51 PM CST5:21 PM VEN1:51 UAE (+1)4:51 PM CT-Sonny Gray fell to 0-3, allowing three runs on two hits and two walks in 6.0 innings, as the Cincinnati Reds lost to the Los Angeles Dodgers 3-2 on Wednesday. Gray struck out nine, ending the game with a 2.79 ERA and 0.93 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 11 12:07 PM PT1:07 PM MT2:07 PM CT3:07 PM ET15:07 ET19:07 GMT3:07 12:07 PM MST2:07 PM EST1:07 PM CST2:37 PM VEN23:07 UAE2:07 PM CT-Gray was pulled from Thursday's start against the Marlins after four innings with a left calf injury.
Analysis: Gray was hit by a comebacker in the second inning but remained in the game until being replaced by Robert Stephenson to start the fifth. The right-hander held the Marlins to two hits and struck out six over four scoreless frames in his second straight solid outing. The injury doesn't appear to be serious at first glance.
Apr. 5 6:43 PM PT7:43 PM MT8:43 PM CT9:43 PM ET21:43 ET1:43 GMT9:43 6:43 PM MST8:43 PM EST7:43 PM CST9:13 PM VEN5:43 UAE (+1)8:43 PM CT-Sonny Gray fell to 0-2, allowing one run on three hits in 6.2 innings, as the Cincinnati Reds lost to the Pittsburgh Pirates 2-0 on Friday. Gray struck out seven, ending the game with a 2.89 ERA and 1.29 WHIP on the season.
Mar. 31 1:31 PM PT2:31 PM MT3:31 PM CT4:31 PM ET16:31 ET20:31 GMT4:31 1:31 PM MST3:31 PM EST2:31 PM CST4:01 PM VEN0:31 UAE (+1)3:31 PM CT-Sonny Gray fell to 0-1, allowing three runs - two earned - on five hits and four walks in 2.2 innings, as the Cincinnati Reds lost to the Pittsburgh Pirates 5-0 on Sunday. Gray did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 6.75 ERA and 3.38 WHIP on the season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2013 Oak 5 3 0 - 0 12 10 0 64.0 51 22 19 4 20 0 67 1.11 2.67
2014 Oak 14 10 0 - 0 33 33 2 219.0 187 84 75 15 74 2 183 1.19 3.08
2015 Oak 14 7 0 - 0 31 31 3 208.0 166 71 63 17 59 0 169 1.08 2.73
2016 Oak 5 11 0 - 0 22 22 0 117.0 133 80 74 18 42 0 94 1.50 5.69
2017 Oak 6 5 0 - 0 16 16 0 97.0 84 48 37 8 30 0 94 1.18 3.43
2017 NYY 4 7 0 - 0 11 11 1 65.1 55 31 27 11 27 1 59 1.26 3.72
2017 Tot 10 12 0 - 0 27 27 1 162.1 139 79 64 19 57 1 153 1.21 3.55
2018 NYY 11 9 0 - 0 30 23 0 130.1 138 73 71 14 57 0 123 1.50 4.90
2019 Cin 11 8 0 - 0 31 31 0 175.1 122 59 56 17 68 1 205 1.08 2.87
Career 70 60 0 - 0 186 177 6 1076.0 936 468 422 104 377 4 994 1.22 3.53

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2014 Oak 33 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2015 Oak 31 6 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 4 0 0 .167 .167 .167
2016 Oak 22 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2018 NYY 30 2 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2019 Cin 34 46 3 7 0 1 0 3 2 19 0 0 .152 .188 .196
Career 189 58 4 8 0 1 0 3 2 25 0 0 .138 .167 .172

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2013 Oak Total 0 2 0 - 0 4 4 0 26.0 20 6 6 2 12 2 24 2.08
    LDS 0 1 0 - 0 2 2 0 13.0 10 3 3 1 6 1 12 2.08
2017 NYY Total 0 2 0 - 0 4 4 0 16.2 8 10 8 2 12 0 12 4.32
    LDS 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 3.1 3 3 3 1 4 0 2 8.10
    LCS 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 5.0 1 2 1 0 2 0 4 1.80
Career 0 2 0 - 0 4 4 0 21.1 14 8 7 2 12 1 18 2.95


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 1384 96 87 90.5 47.58
Curveball 743 85 72 79 25.54
Slider 605 88 81 82.7 20.8
Changeup 165 92 76 78.9 5.67
Cut Fastball 12 93 87 91 .41

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2019 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.