MLB Player Stats - James Paxton - NY Yankees

 
MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Postseason|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#65
James Paxton
ERA W-L K
3.82 15-6 186
Team: NY YankeesHt / Wt: 6-4 / 227
Position: SPBorn: 11/6/1988 Birthplace: Ladner, Canada
Bats/Throws: L/L Draft: 4th Round by Mariners (2010)


Latest News
Oct. 18 7:11 PM PT8:11 PM MT9:11 PM CT10:11 PM ET22:11 ET2:11 GMT10:11 7:11 PM MST9:11 PM EST8:11 PM CST9:41 PM VEN6:11 UAE (+1)9:11 PM CT-James Paxton improved to 1-0, allowing one run on four hits and four walks in 6.0 innings, as the New York Yankees defeated the Houston Astros 4-1 on Friday. Paxton struck out nine, ending the game with a 2.16 ERA and 1.68 WHIP on the season.
Oct. 14 10:01 PM PT11:01 PM MT12:01 AM CT1:01 AM ET1:01 ET5:01 GMT13:01 10:01 PM MST12:01 AM EST11:01 PM CST12:31 AM VEN9:01 UAE12:01 AM CT-James Paxton allowed one run on four hits and two walks in 2.1 innings as the New York Yankees lost to the Houston Astros 3-2 on Sunday. Paxton struck out three, ending the game with a 3.86 ERA and 2.57 WHIP on the season.
Oct. 4 8:28 PM PT9:28 PM MT10:28 PM CT11:28 PM ET23:28 ET3:28 GMT11:28 8:28 PM MST10:28 PM EST9:28 PM CST10:58 PM VEN7:28 UAE (+1)10:28 PM CT-James Paxton allowed three runs on five hits and one walk in 4.2 innings as the New York Yankees defeated the Minnesota Twins 10-4 on Friday. Paxton struck out eight, ending the game with a 5.79 ERA and 1.29 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 27 7:08 PM PT8:08 PM MT9:08 PM CT10:08 PM ET22:08 ET2:08 GMT10:08 7:08 PM MST9:08 PM EST8:08 PM CST9:38 PM VEN6:08 UAE (+1)9:08 PM CT-Paxton will start the New York Yankees’ AL Division Series opener against the Minnesota Twins on Friday night.
Analysis: Paxton gave the Yankees a little scare when he had to come out of last Friday's start at Texas after one inning due to tightness in his left glute. He underwent an MRI on Saturday which revealed some nerve irritation.
Sep. 21 1:18 PM PT2:18 PM MT3:18 PM CT4:18 PM ET16:18 ET20:18 GMT4:18 1:18 PM MST3:18 PM EST2:18 PM CST3:48 PM VEN0:18 UAE (+1)3:18 PM CT-James Paxton improved to 15-6, allowing one run - zero earned - on three hits in 6.0 innings, as the New York Yankees defeated the Toronto Blue Jays 7-2 on Saturday. Paxton struck out seven, ending the game with a 3.73 ERA and 1.27 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 14 4:01 PM PT5:01 PM MT6:01 PM CT7:01 PM ET19:01 ET23:01 GMT7:01 4:01 PM MST6:01 PM EST5:01 PM CST6:31 PM VEN3:01 UAE (+1)6:01 PM CT-James Paxton improved to 14-6, allowing one run on three hits and two walks in 5.0 innings, as the New York Yankees defeated the Toronto Blue Jays 13-3 on Saturday. Paxton struck out three, ending the game with a 3.88 ERA and 1.30 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 9 7:41 PM PT8:41 PM MT9:41 PM CT10:41 PM ET22:41 ET2:41 GMT10:41 7:41 PM MST9:41 PM EST8:41 PM CST10:11 PM VEN6:41 UAE (+1)9:41 PM CT-James Paxton improved to 13-6, allowing four hits and three walks over 6.2 scoreless innings, as the New York Yankees defeated the Boston Red Sox 5-0 on Monday. Paxton struck out seven, ending the game with a 3.96 ERA and 1.31 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 3 6:20 PM PT7:20 PM MT8:20 PM CT9:20 PM ET21:20 ET1:20 GMT9:20 6:20 PM MST8:20 PM EST7:20 PM CST8:50 PM VEN5:20 UAE (+1)8:20 PM CT-James Paxton improved to 12-6, allowing one hit and one walk over 7.0 scoreless innings, as the New York Yankees defeated the Texas Rangers 10-1 on Tuesday. Paxton struck out 12, ending the game with a 4.16 ERA and 1.33 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 28 4:25 PM PT5:25 PM MT6:25 PM CT7:25 PM ET19:25 ET23:25 GMT7:25 4:25 PM MST6:25 PM EST5:25 PM CST6:55 PM VEN3:25 UAE (+1)6:25 PM CT-James Paxton improved to 11-6, allowing two runs on one hit and five walks in 5.0 innings, as the New York Yankees defeated the Seattle Mariners 7-3 on Wednesday. Paxton struck out four, ending the game with a 4.39 ERA and 1.38 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 24 10:29 PM PT11:29 PM MT12:29 AM CT1:29 AM ET1:29 ET5:29 GMT13:29 10:29 PM MST12:29 AM EST11:29 PM CST12:59 AM VEN9:29 UAE12:29 AM CT-James Paxton improved to 10-6, allowing two runs on five hits in 6.2 innings, as the New York Yankees defeated the Los Angeles Dodgers 10-2 on Friday. Paxton struck out 11, ending the game with a 4.43 ERA and 1.39 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 17 1:09 PM PT2:09 PM MT3:09 PM CT4:09 PM ET16:09 ET20:09 GMT4:09 1:09 PM MST3:09 PM EST2:09 PM CST3:39 PM VEN0:09 UAE (+1)3:09 PM CT-James Paxton improved to 9-6, allowing four runs on six hits and three walks in 5.0 innings, as the New York Yankees defeated the Cleveland Indians 6-5 on Saturday. Paxton struck out four, ending the game with a 4.53 ERA and 1.43 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 12 1:02 PM PT2:02 PM MT3:02 PM CT4:02 PM ET16:02 ET20:02 GMT4:02 1:02 PM MST3:02 PM EST2:02 PM CST3:32 PM VEN0:02 UAE (+1)3:02 PM CT-James Paxton improved to 8-6, allowing three runs on five hits and two walks in 6.0 innings, as the New York Yankees defeated the Baltimore Orioles 8-5 on Monday. Paxton struck out seven, ending the game with a 4.40 ERA and 1.41 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 7 7:18 PM PT8:18 PM MT9:18 PM CT10:18 PM ET22:18 ET2:18 GMT10:18 7:18 PM MST9:18 PM EST8:18 PM CST9:48 PM VEN6:18 UAE (+1)9:18 PM CT-James Paxton improved to 7-6, allowing one run on five hits and one walk in 6.2 innings, as the New York Yankees defeated the Baltimore Orioles 14-2 on Wednesday. Paxton struck out seven, ending the game with a 4.40 ERA and 1.43 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 2 6:54 PM PT7:54 PM MT8:54 PM CT9:54 PM ET21:54 ET1:54 GMT9:54 6:54 PM MST8:54 PM EST7:54 PM CST9:24 PM VEN5:54 UAE (+1)8:54 PM CT-James Paxton improved to 6-6, allowing two runs on two hits and three walks in 6.0 innings, as the New York Yankees defeated the Boston Red Sox 4-2 on Friday. Paxton struck out six, ending the game with a 4.61 ERA and 1.46 WHIP on the season.
July 26 7:33 PM PT8:33 PM MT9:33 PM CT10:33 PM ET22:33 ET2:33 GMT10:33 7:33 PM MST9:33 PM EST8:33 PM CST10:03 PM VEN6:33 UAE (+1)9:33 PM CT-James Paxton fell to 5-6, allowing seven runs on nine hits in 4.0 innings, as the New York Yankees lost to the Boston Red Sox 10-5 on Friday. Paxton struck out nine, ending the game with a 4.72 ERA and 1.51 WHIP on the season.
July 21 1:24 PM PT2:24 PM MT3:24 PM CT4:24 PM ET16:24 ET20:24 GMT4:24 1:24 PM MST3:24 PM EST2:24 PM CST3:54 PM VEN0:24 UAE (+1)3:24 PM CT-James Paxton fell to 5-5, allowing seven runs - four earned - on five hits and three walks in 3.1 innings, as the New York Yankees lost to the Colorado Rockies 8-4 on Sunday. Paxton struck out six, ending the game with a 4.20 ERA and 1.47 WHIP on the season.
July 15 7:56 PM PT8:56 PM MT9:56 PM CT10:56 PM ET22:56 ET2:56 GMT10:56 7:56 PM MST9:56 PM EST8:56 PM CST10:26 PM VEN6:56 UAE (+1)9:56 PM CT-James Paxton allowed two runs on seven hits and two walks in 6.0 innings as the New York Yankees lost to the Tampa Bay Rays 5-4 on Monday. Paxton struck out seven, ending the game with a 3.94 ERA and 1.43 WHIP on the season.
July 7 1:13 PM PT2:13 PM MT3:13 PM CT4:13 PM ET16:13 ET20:13 GMT4:13 1:13 PM MST3:13 PM EST2:13 PM CST3:43 PM VEN0:13 UAE (+1)3:13 PM CT-James Paxton fell to 5-4, allowing two runs on seven hits in 6.0 innings, as the New York Yankees lost to the Tampa Bay Rays 2-1 on Sunday. Paxton struck out 11, ending the game with a 4.01 ERA and 1.43 WHIP on the season.
July 2 7:27 PM PT8:27 PM MT9:27 PM CT10:27 PM ET22:27 ET2:27 GMT10:27 7:27 PM MST9:27 PM EST8:27 PM CST9:57 PM VEN6:27 UAE (+1)9:27 PM CT-James Paxton allowed one run on eight hits and two walks in 6.0 innings as the New York Yankees lost to the New York Mets 4-2 on Tuesday. Paxton struck out three, ending the game with a 4.09 ERA and 1.45 WHIP on the season.
June 26 1:57 PM PT2:57 PM MT3:57 PM CT4:57 PM ET16:57 ET20:57 GMT4:57 1:57 PM MST3:57 PM EST2:57 PM CST4:27 PM VEN0:57 UAE (+1)3:57 PM CT-James Paxton allowed six runs on eight hits and four walks in 4.1 innings as the New York Yankees defeated the Toronto Blue Jays 8-7 on Wednesday. Paxton struck out three, ending the game with a 4.34 ERA and 1.43 WHIP on the season.
June 21 7:18 PM PT8:18 PM MT9:18 PM CT10:18 PM ET22:18 ET2:18 GMT10:18 7:18 PM MST9:18 PM EST8:18 PM CST9:48 PM VEN6:18 UAE (+1)9:18 PM CT-James Paxton improved to 5-3, allowing one run on five hits and three walks in 5.0 innings, as the New York Yankees defeated the Houston Astros 4-1 on Friday. Paxton struck out seven, ending the game with a 3.75 ERA and 1.33 WHIP on the season.
June 16 2:22 PM PT3:22 PM MT4:22 PM CT5:22 PM ET17:22 ET21:22 GMT5:22 2:22 PM MST4:22 PM EST3:22 PM CST4:52 PM VEN1:22 UAE (+1)4:22 PM CT-James Paxton improved to 4-3, allowing two runs on eight hits and one walk in 6.0 innings, as the New York Yankees defeated the Chicago White Sox 10-3 on Sunday. Paxton struck out seven, ending the game with a 3.93 ERA and 1.31 WHIP on the season.
June 11 7:34 PM PT8:34 PM MT9:34 PM CT10:34 PM ET22:34 ET2:34 GMT10:34 7:34 PM MST9:34 PM EST8:34 PM CST10:04 PM VEN6:34 UAE (+1)9:34 PM CT-James Paxton fell to 3-3, allowing six runs on seven hits and two walks in 2.2 innings, as the New York Yankees lost to the New York Mets 10-4 on Tuesday. Paxton struck out one, ending the game with a 4.04 ERA and 1.29 WHIP on the season.
June 5 7:35 PM PT8:35 PM MT9:35 PM CT10:35 PM ET22:35 ET2:35 GMT10:35 7:35 PM MST9:35 PM EST8:35 PM CST10:05 PM VEN6:35 UAE (+1)9:35 PM CT-James Paxton allowed four runs - three earned - on four hits and three walks in 4.2 innings as the New York Yankees lost to the Toronto Blue Jays 11-7 on Wednesday. Paxton struck out four, ending the game with a 3.11 ERA and 1.17 WHIP on the season.
May 29 12:55 PM PT1:55 PM MT2:55 PM CT3:55 PM ET15:55 ET19:55 GMT3:55 12:55 PM MST2:55 PM EST1:55 PM CST3:25 PM VEN23:55 UAE2:55 PM CT-James Paxton walked two and didn't allow a hit in 4.0 scoreless innings as the New York Yankees defeated the San Diego Padres 7-0 on Wednesday. Paxton struck out seven, ending the game with a 2.81 ERA and 1.13 WHIP on the season.
May 3 6:55 PM PT7:55 PM MT8:55 PM CT9:55 PM ET21:55 ET1:55 GMT9:55 6:55 PM MST8:55 PM EST7:55 PM CST9:25 PM VEN5:55 UAE (+1)8:55 PM CT-Paxton (left knee inflammation) has been activated from the injured list to start Wednesday against the Padres.
Analysis: Paxton will surely be on a pitch count in his first major league outing since May 3, but should be a good long-term option provided he can stay healthy. The offseason addition went 2-0 with a 1.19 ERA and 33 strikeouts over a four-start stretch prior to landing on the IL.
Apr. 27 10:44 PM PT11:44 PM MT12:44 AM CT1:44 AM ET1:44 ET5:44 GMT13:44 10:44 PM MST12:44 AM EST11:44 PM CST1:14 AM VEN9:44 UAE12:44 AM CT-James Paxton improved to 3-2, allowing three runs on five hits and two walks in 5.2 innings, as the New York Yankees defeated the San Francisco Giants 7-3 on Friday. Paxton struck out eight, ending the game with a 3.38 ERA and 1.15 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 21 1:42 PM PT2:42 PM MT3:42 PM CT4:42 PM ET16:42 ET20:42 GMT4:42 1:42 PM MST3:42 PM EST2:42 PM CST4:12 PM VEN0:42 UAE (+1)3:42 PM CT-James Paxton allowed three hits and one walk without giving up a run in 6.0 innings as the New York Yankees defeated the Kansas City Royals 7-6 on Sunday. Paxton struck out 12, ending the game with a 3.10 ERA and 1.14 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 16 6:05 PM PT7:05 PM MT8:05 PM CT9:05 PM ET21:05 ET1:05 GMT9:05 6:05 PM MST8:05 PM EST7:05 PM CST8:35 PM VEN5:05 UAE (+1)8:05 PM CT-James Paxton improved to 2-2, allowing two hits and one walk over 8.0 scoreless innings, as the New York Yankees defeated the Boston Red Sox 8-0 on Tuesday. Paxton struck out 12, ending the game with a 3.91 ERA and 1.26 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 10 8:14 PM PT9:14 PM MT10:14 PM CT11:14 PM ET23:14 ET3:14 GMT11:14 8:14 PM MST10:14 PM EST9:14 PM CST10:44 PM VEN7:14 UAE (+1)10:14 PM CT-James Paxton fell to 1-2, allowing five runs on eight hits and three walks in 4.0 innings, as the New York Yankees lost to the Houston Astros 8-6 on Wednesday. Paxton struck out five, ending the game with a 6.00 ERA and 1.73 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 4 3:41 PM PT4:41 PM MT5:41 PM CT6:41 PM ET18:41 ET22:41 GMT6:41 3:41 PM MST5:41 PM EST4:41 PM CST6:11 PM VEN2:41 UAE (+1)5:41 PM CT-James Paxton improved to 1-1, allowing four runs on eight hits and two walks in 5.1 innings, as the New York Yankees defeated the Baltimore Orioles 8-4 on Thursday. Paxton struck out nine, ending the game with a 4.09 ERA and 1.36 WHIP on the season.
Mar. 30 1:35 PM PT2:35 PM MT3:35 PM CT4:35 PM ET16:35 ET20:35 GMT4:35 1:35 PM MST3:35 PM EST2:35 PM CST4:05 PM VEN0:35 UAE (+1)2:35 PM CT-James Paxton fell to 0-1, allowing two runs - one earned - on four hits and one walk in 5.2 innings, as the New York Yankees lost to the Baltimore Orioles 5-3 on Saturday. Paxton struck out five, ending the game with a 1.59 ERA and 0.88 WHIP on the season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2013 Sea 3 0 0 - 0 4 4 0 24.0 15 5 4 2 7 2 21 0.92 1.50
2014 Sea 6 4 0 - 0 13 13 0 74.0 60 29 25 3 29 2 59 1.20 3.04
2015 Sea 3 4 0 - 0 13 13 0 67.0 67 34 29 8 29 1 56 1.43 3.90
2016 Sea 6 7 0 - 0 20 20 0 121.0 134 62 51 9 24 3 117 1.31 3.79
2017 Sea 12 5 0 - 0 24 24 0 136.0 113 47 45 9 37 1 156 1.10 2.98
2018 Sea 11 6 0 - 0 28 28 2 160.1 134 67 67 23 42 0 208 1.10 3.76
2019 NYY 15 6 0 - 0 29 29 0 150.2 138 71 64 23 55 0 186 1.28 3.82
Career 56 32 0 - 0 131 131 2 733.0 661 315 285 77 223 9 803 1.21 3.50

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2013 Sea 4 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 1 1 0 0 .000 .500 .000
2014 Sea 13 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2015 Sea 13 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2016 Sea 20 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 3 0 0 .000 .250 .000
2019 NYY 29 5 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 5 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 131 12 1 0 0 0 0 1 2 12 0 0 .000 .143 .000

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2019 NYY Total 2 0 0 - 0 6 6 0 26.0 26 10 10 4 14 0 40 3.37
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 4.2 5 3 3 2 1 0 8 5.79
    LCS 1 0 0 - 0 2 2 0 8.1 8 2 2 0 6 0 12 2.16
Career 1 0 0 - 0 3 3 0 13.0 13 5 5 2 7 0 20 3.46


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 1596 100 91 95.5 59.89
Curveball 502 84 76 81.1 18.84
Slider 534 92 83 88.2 20.04
Changeup 33 89 83 86.3 1.24

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2019 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.